Tags

, , ,

Have you ever heard of The Runaway Jury? If you have, then you must be aware of John Grisham.

The first time I knew about him were from the books my mom collected and displayed in a certain corner in our house. She has The Runaway Jury, The Rainmaker, A Time to Kill and The Pelican Brief.

I loved the hardbound books and their law background. But I did not dare read them with an innocent fear that I may not understand the legal and grown-up aspects of the book.

But out of curiosity and boredom and a need to visit a genre that is not similar to Sophie Kinsella or Jane Austen, I decided to give it a try.

Surprise, surprise! I got instantly hooked by the first chapter. The writing style and storyline were not as intimidating as I first thought. There may have been legal jargon, which is an absolutely necessity since it is about a jury, but those did not make me scratch my head. I have a hard time putting the book down.

I have to thank my mom for purchasing the hardbound type. There is something about those type of books that captivate my attention even if initially I have no idea what the book is about. It emits a certain scholarly, regal and European feel. I guess they remind me of the era where books were highly-prized possessions and manners were highly-regarded.

Now that I have finished reading it, I intend on watching the movie and see the similarities and differences. But again, I would like to say “Hello!” to John Grisham.

PS- If you noticed my unique yet cute bookmark, I bought it in a 100 yen store in Japan. It also can be used as a paperweight.

Life is beautiful!

Freine

